Art Exhibit: The Birth Project, Amanda Greavette

6 Nov

Please note this is not my work.  This is the stunning work of Amanda Greavette.

I found this artist courtesy of a blog I follow called Dr. Momma.  The painter is Amanda Greavette.  Greavette perfectly captures the emotions of a woman during and after labor.  Each life size portrait is a provocative and beautifully intimate rendering of the awe inspiring work of birth – the journey of maiden to mother.  I hope her work speaks to you like it does to me.

Greavette’s statement:  I’m interested in how women navigate the dramatic process of childbearing and how it shapes and changes their identity. I aim to create work that is provocative, beautiful and heavy with emotion and symbol. The paintings represent an intensely personal but simultaneously universal and ageless experience. Much beauty and drama is lived through a woman’s body, in ways that can be both empowering and debilitating. The pieces I make have a narrative that unfolds according to the viewers’ own experiences, but also represent aspects of the larger story of women’s history. I hope women can see their own stories mimicked in the paintings, as well as emotions, beliefs and experiences they may not be able to express or fully explain.

To visit her blog go here:  www.amandagreavette.blogspot.com, to visit her website go here:  www.amandagreavette.com.

Photographs of paintings on this page ©Amanda Greavette. Titles given when available.

Her work will be showing in Toronto, Canada.

“Living in the Body” November 4-14
Gallery 1313
1313 Queen Street West.
Toronto
Gallery Hours: Wed-Sun 1-6pm

Early Morning 6' x 4' approx

All Around my Voices are Singing - "36x48"

New Soul 2.5 x 2 approx

Again, please note this is not my work.  This is the stunning work of  Amanda Greavette.  For further information please visit Greavette’s blog.  For your convenience, I’ve included information regarding commissions and prints of her work (taken from her blog).

Commissions:
I’ve had lots of inquiries on whether I accept commissions. I do welcome commissions; birth, pregnancy or otherwise. Please contact me to discuss your request at rose_arc@hotmail.com. For reference, I work life-size, and the rate is approx $125/square foot.

Prints:
I’m unsure yet whether I will make prints. I would rather focus my energy on painting and selling original work. In some ways I feel making prints diminishes the value of the painting. However, I realize purchasing a large painting is not in everyone’s budget, so I may consider doing a limited number of prints of certain peices in the future.

18 Responses to “Art Exhibit: The Birth Project, Amanda Greavette”

  1. Kathryn O'Brien November 7, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    Thank you for this reverent and deep look at THE trans-formative moment-gorgeous and real, hopeful and helpful.

  2. Kristi November 7, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Wow, they are incredible!!!!!!

  3. jaimmie November 7, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    omg just beautiful!!!!

  4. amy gullicksen November 7, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    these are absolutely amazing! brought me to tears…

    • Joy November 9, 2010 at 1:05 am #

      They made me cry, too!

  5. Jessica November 7, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    beautiful, simply beautiful

  6. Megan November 7, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    And people think abortion is just the removal of a mass of tissue…
    Our society has become so desensitized by abortion that birth is no longer a celebration of life! We need to be reminded of how precious it is, and these paintings are a great way to tell that message!

    • Laura November 13, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

      Megan, I agree that these portraits are beautiful. Birth, as a triumphant expression of life, is beautiful. It is all the more beautiful when a woman is truly choosing to bring a life into the world to love it, either for a moment before adoption, or for always. Conception is not the same thing as birth – these paintings illustrate the wonder of one, not the other.

      Please honor women’s choices. All our lives and paths are different, from our births to whatever comes after – and we can only follow the path that is most right for us.

      • Regina February 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

        Who is honoring the fe male’s choice in the womb? If we don’t speak for those who cannot, who will? Without conception..there is no birth.

  7. K.B November 8, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    amazing

  8. Radiant Motherhood November 8, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    This is fantastic. I want to birth in a field, too now. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Leah McCullough November 8, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Wow!! If I ever get pregnant again I am calling you for a commission!! I was so moved by the pictures and I totally recognized the one that had the c-section because she looked how I felt after the one I had. Thank you for sharing!

    • Joy November 9, 2010 at 1:05 am #

      Hi Leah, thanks so much for your comment, but please note, I’m not the artist :). However, I’m sure she would love your encouraging words on her blog which I provided a link for above.

  10. flavia November 12, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    simplesmente tocante.

  11. Cláudio November 15, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Wonderful too much!

  12. Flávia - Arte-Misia Brasil November 23, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Muito Lindo!!!
    Parabéns!!

  13. Adriana Tanese Nogueira January 17, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Stunning and amazing. Amanda Graveatte has a wonderful gift. Her paintings should be spread around, for they enhance womens labor and childbirth triumph!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Art Exhibit: The Birth Project, Amanda Greavette « The Joy of This -- Topsy.com - November 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ❀ Maylu Souza ❀, ❀ Maylu Souza ❀. ❀ Maylu Souza ❀ said: https://thejoyofthis.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/the-birth-project-amanda-greavette/ http://twitpic.com/354l1a […]

Leave a comment